Day: November 21, 2013

An Expression about Reddit

Posted on

That corky icon isn’t the only thing I enjoy about this site; it’s in its own words hot, new, and controversial.  I will also say it’s social, interactive, and is able to bring many online cultures together!

Courtesy of http://www.iconarchive.com

Wikipedia says Reddit is a social news and entertainment website that allows you to create an account and contribute material through text or links. Its users are called Redditors, and once material has been submitted one can vote on if they like it or not; this is known as upvote/downvote. Also once users leave comments, those comments can also be upvoted or downvoted.

Topics of interests are known as “‘subreddits.”‘ Wikipedia states there are over 5,400 subreddits, and these deal with anything from music, unexpected, to my favorite subreddit, memes.

Courtesy of reddit.com
Courtesy of reddit.com

When I searched “meme” on Reddit, I was amazed by how many subreddits are generated throughout the website. I could choose from many memes, like funny, gaming, advice animals lol, trees plus many more! It even asked, “about 137,080 results in 0.251 seconds… satisfied?” Yes!

For this weeks assignment my classmates and I will be having a Reddit statistics contest. So before submitting my work, I made note of some of the Reddit contributing rules for memes. After clicking on the meme category, funny, in its sidebar its list of rules for submitting a link or text were:

Courtesy of Reddit.com

As you all can see in rule #12, memes are not excepted! 😦 Hmm, I thought to myself, which of my posts should I submit? I’ve decided to submit my post Even You Can Do it Too! Please leave comments on another post you think I should submit to Reddit, take part in my previous polls, and stay anxious for my upcoming posts!

CHEEZburger for the Meme Lover’s Soul

Posted on

Hey bloggers, for this weeks posts I’d like to share with you websites centered around creative culture online. For this post I’d like to introduce to you the CHEEZburger website. It’s a place where you can find hilarious memes, gifs, contribute, and test your knowledge.

Courtesy of Cheezburger.com
Courtesy of Cheezburger.com

What I enjoy most about this site is there’s so many categories of memes you can choose from. Branched to those categories are different topics too. You can laugh hysterically from animal memes, celebrity memes, trending funny memes, fails and wins memes, gamers and geeks memes, and also the know your meme encyclopedia. It even has some of its memes written in Spanish!

Courtesy of http://icanhas.cheezburger.com
Courtesy of http://icanhas.cheezburger.com

By providing many subcategories this site shows how popular memes are. Besides presenting an excess amount of memes and gifs, it also includes creative culture online by providing widgets that allow you to follow them on Twitter and like them on Facebook.

It also allows you to contribute by  being able to make an account with the site and create and submit your own memes! Contribution is something I enjoy about create culture online because anyone can become involved and express themselves through this outlet. On that note for my next post I will be presenting to you the Reddit website, and will  also contribute my own work to the site.

Feel free to rummage through CHEEZburger’s site, and leave a comment of a funny meme you found!